People

When Life Leaves


I mean to talk about death.

I,  for one, have a point of contention with death. I don’t like it, I have issues with it, I don’t quite know how to deal with it. I have always been uncomfortable around it. I am not made to be around lifeless bodies.

Death is both a thief and a liberator. It robs us of people too soon or ends people’s suffering.

In the last few decades, death has lost its sacred attribute. Mourning is an individual process anyway, why attend viewings and funerals?

It has become a gathering for gossips, a display of hypocrisy  (people, family members who never cared about the deceased and have been nowhere to be seen in years show up!), a sham when it comes to paying respect to someone.

I have no clue how to reconcile myself with it. I will be confronted with it sooner or later.

How does one go about doing that?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.